22 June 2007

Mendelssohn Overture - A Midsummer Night's Dream
Shostakovich Cello concerto no. 1
Elgar String Serenade in E minor
Mozart Symphony no. 38, Prague
Friday 22 June 2007, 7:30pm
St. James's Church, 197 Piccadilly, London W1J 9LL

Alan Hazeldine, conductor

Richard Jenkinson, cello


Cellist Richard Jenkinson was a soloist with the CCO in 1996, during the orchestra's first season. He continues his long-standing relationship with the orchestra performing Shostakovich's first cello concerto, one of the finest cello concertos of the 20th century. A midsummer mood opens the evening with Mendelssohn's overture to A Midsummer Night's Dream, and the concert also includes Elgar's String Serenade and Mozart's Prague symphony.