31 January 2009

CoplandQuiet City
ProkofievViolin Concerto No. 2
MozartMasonic Funeral Music
BeethovenThree Equali for Four Trombones
BeethovenSymphony No. 3 in E-flat 'Eroica'
Saturday 31st January 2009, 6:30pm
St. James's Church, 197 Piccadilly, London W1J 9LL

Dominic Wheeler, conductor
Laura Samuel, violin


Tickets: £15, £12.50, £7.50 (concessions £2.50 off)


The CCO is delighted to open their first concert of 2009 by welcoming Laura Samuel of the internationally acclaimed Belcea String Quartet to play Prokofiev's 2nd violin concerto.

Following two highly successful CCO concerts in recent seasons, Dominic Wheeler returns to the conduct the orchestra, who will also play Copland's Quiet City, Mozart's Masonic Funeral Music and Beethoven's Eroica Symphony.

The orchestra will be dedicating this performance to Alan Hazeldine, our founding musical director, who lost his long battle with cancer in November 2008.