2 December 2016

Kodály Dances of Galanta
Shostakovich Cello Concerto No. 1 in Eb major, Op.107
Sibelius Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 43
Friday 2 December 2016, 7:30pm
St James's Church, 197 Piccadilly, London, W1J 9LL

Holly Mathieson, conductor
Tim Walden, cello

Tickets: £17, £15, £10 (concessions £3 off)

To reserve tickets
Email: tickets@corinthianorchestra.org.uk
Phone: 020 7381 0441

Kodály put Hungarian folk music at the centre of his music. The beguiling Dances of Galánta are essentially skillful arrangements of music of the sort that he may have first encountered as a child in the Hungarian town of Galánta (today in Slovakia), on the railway line – his father was the local station-master – from Budapest to Vienna.

After Stalin’s death, in 1953, the Soviet government stopped bullying artists. But even though Shostakovich was free from harassment in 1959, his first Cello Concerto is a work that feeds on his grim memories of the Stalinist regime, harbouring bitterness and melancholy beneath its surface.

We conclude this evening’s concert on a happier note with a performance of Sibelius’s Symphony No, 2, its warm melodies inspired by his visit to Florence and Rapallo, Italy.