14 June 2018

Berlioz Le carnaval romain
Strauss Horn Concerto No. 1 in Eb major, Op. 11
Mahler Symphony No. 10 (ed. Cooke 1910)
Thursday 14 June 2018, 7:30pm
Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank Centre

Michael Seal, conductor
Martin Owen, horn

To reserve tickets
Phone: 0844 847 9910


We open our return to the Queen Elizabeth Hall, with a performance of Berlioz's dashing Roman Carnival Overture, followed by Richard Strauss’s equally exuberant, and one of the most-demanding solo works for the horn, the Horn Concerto No. 1. The centerpiece of the concert is a performance of Mahler’s Symphony No. 10. The symphony was written in the summer of 1910, and was Mahler’s final composition. At the time of his death, the work was substantially complete in the form of a continuous draft, but not fully elaborated or orchestrated. After Mahler's death there was no immediate attempt to complete the work for performance. The various realisations produced by Deryck Cooke have, since the mid-1960s, become the basis for most performances and recordings and it is the Cooke version of the complete Symphony you will hear.