Reiko Fujisawa, piano

Reiko Fujisawa studied at the Musashino Academy of Music in Tokyo, Trinity College of Music London, and subsequently with Martino Tirimo, Benjamin Kaplan, and Yonty Solomon. She has since established herself as an exciting and formidable virtuoso performer with appearances at many prestigious venues and festivals throughout the country including the Brighton, Belfast, Swansea, Tenby, Warwick & Leamington Festivals; at the Southbank Centre, St John’s Smith Square, St David's Hall, Wigmore Hall; and at Aberystwyth, Birmingham, Durham, Nottingham and Southampton Universities.

As a featured artist of Japan 2001 she made over 25 appearances in all regions of the UK both as recitalist and with her own unique "Ensemble Tōzai". Broadcast performances were featured on BBC Radio 3, Wales, World Service and Channel 4 television, highlighting the new work Toru’s Mist’written for them by Gavin Bryars.

This festival also allowed Reiko to further pursue her commitment to performing the music of Japanese composers, an interest she has been developing since her London debut at the Purcell Room in 1999. At this concert she gave the UK premiere of Cloud Atlas I II III by Toshi Ichiyanagi, and has subsequently introduced many similar works for both solo piano and violin and piano with Masayuki Kino.

For her debut recital at the Wigmore Hall in 2003 Reiko chose music by Yoichi Togawa in a programme that also included Beethoven, Bartók, and Schubert’s Sonata in B flat. She was invited to appear on BBC Radio 3 in a programme highlighting her various musical activities and featuring live performances.

In 2005 she embarked on a new collaboration with The Soloists of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in a chamber music concert for woodwind and piano at the newly opened Cadogan Hall in London.

In addition to her regular UK appearances, Reiko also returns by invitation to perform in Japan.

"….a beautifully poised performance"
- The Guardian

"Her elegant playing... was a total joy"
- The Times


Performances with the Corinthian Chamber Orchestra