What's On

  • 18 May 2017

    Shostakovich (arr. Barshai) Chamber Symphony in C minor, Op. 110a 
    Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 2, Op. 63 in G minor 
    Dvořák Symphony No. 6, Op. 60 in D major 
    Thursday 18 May 2017, 7:30pm
    St James's Church, 197 Piccadilly, London, W1J 9LL

    Mike Seal, conductor
    Zoë Beyers, violin

    Buy tickets online now

    Tickets: £17, £15, £10 (concessions £3 off)

    To reserve tickets
    Email: tickets@corinthianorchestra.org.uk
    Phone: 020 7381 0441

    The Allied firebombing of Dresden killed more people than the atomic bombing of Hiroshima  In the While staying in Dresden in the summer of 1960, Shostakovich composed a quartet, his eighth, inscribed “In memory of victims of fascism and war.”  This evening we will perform Rudolf Barshai’s arrangement of this quartet for string orchestra. 

    Prokofiev composed his Violin Concerto No. 2 in 1935, while living in Paris just before returning to the Soviet Union.  He completed it at the same time as his well-known ballet score Romeo and Juliet, which this concerto mirrors in numerous passages.

    If the Sixth hasn't quite the stature of Dvorák's three final symphonies, it is nonetheless thoroughly characteristic of the composer.   It is the work that marks his full maturity as a symphonist, and it is by any standards one of the most ingratiating symphonies of its time.

  • 20 June 2017

    Rameau Dances from Les Boréades
    Mendelssohn Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64 
    Beethoven Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 36
    Tuesday 20 June 2017, 7:30pm
    St Martin-in-the-Fields, Trafalgar Square, London WC2N 4JJ

    Mike Seal, conductor
    Zsolt-Tihamér Visontay, violin

    Buy tickets online now

    Tickets: £22, £18, £14 (concessions £3 off)

    To reserve tickets
    Email: tickets@corinthianorchestra.org.uk

    Jean-Philippe Rameau is one of the orchestral world's neglected masters. Although he is acknowledged as one of the most important and influential composers of French baroque music, modern symphony orchestras today rarely play his music. So, we are really pleased to play for you this evening some instrumental selections from Les Boréades (The Descendants of Boreas) an opera in five acts by this composer.

    Mendelsohn’s violin concerto needs little introduction.  The concerto turned out to be Mendelssohn’s last orchestral work and a powerhouse finale to a career burdened by the promise of spectacular early accomplishment.

    We conclude this evening’s concert with Beethoven's Second Symphony.  Written mostly during his stay at Heiligenstadt in 1802, it was a time when his deafness was becoming more apparent and he began to realise that it might be incurable. Paradoxically, "this Symphony is smiling throughout" (as Hector Berlioz remarked) and will be a relatively light-hearted and humorous end to this evening’s concert.